Questions? We have answers.
TPWD is the state agency that manages all of the state parks, wildlife management areas, and state fish hatcheries in Texas. TPWD also oversees resource protection of native species and other natural resources. TPWD's mission is "to manage and conserve the natural and cultural resources of Texas and to provide hunting, fishing and outdoor recreation opportunities for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations."
You can order the license plate at any time! You do not have to wait until you receive your renewal notice.
Yes, the Horned Lizard, Bluebonnet, Largemouth Bass and White-tailed deer license plates are all available for trailers, travel trailers and motorcycles. The Ducks Unlimited License Plate is available for trailers.
No. Fees for your annual registration are not included.
Yes, with $22 of the $30 going to TPWD each year.
It could change, depending on how the plate order and the registration expiration months line up. If the registration date is moved forward, you could be charged some prorated fees. You will never lose registration and specialty plate months you have paid for when a new expiration month and year is assigned. TxDMV typically tries to synchronize the plate and registration expiration dates forward, to be able to combine these fees into one renewal bill next year.
You will surrender your current windshield validation sticker and receive a new windshield validation sticker. You will also pay your regular annual vehicle registration fee and receive a credit for the remaining time on your previous registration payment. Proof of financial responsibility such as a liability insurance card or policy is also required at this time.
Plates may be transferred to another vehicle you own with a corrected vehicle registration obtained from your County Tax office.
Call the TxDMV customer help desk at (512) 374-5010 or 1 (888) 368-4689 or contact Texas Parks and Wildlife Department by filling out the contact us web form.
For an additional $40 you may order a personalized plate of five spaces or less. TxDMV will review each request to ensure that it does not duplicate another plate already assigned. Personalize your plate with up to 5 characters (for cars, trucks, trailers) or 4 characters for motorcycles. Characters include letters, numbers, and three symbols. For the use an * asterisk symbol when checking vanity name availability, for a use the @ symbol, and for the use the & symbol )
As required by state law, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) automatically replaces plates at seven years at no extra cost to be sure the plates maintain safety legibility. If you wait until this seven years is up on your existing plates, you will automatically be sent the new Largemouth Bass plate design by TxDMV at no additional cost.
However, you may opt to replace your plates before the seven year mark in order to get the new Largemouth Bass plate design, which becomes available in May 2015. To do this, you will need to complete Form VTR-60 (Application for Replacement License Plate(s) and/or Vehicle Registration Sticker Form) and submit it to your local County Tax Assessor-Collector's office. The fee to replace your current Largemouth Bass license plate will be $6 plus a $1 automation fee. TxDMV is required by law to collect this fee which covers the states extra manufacture and postage costs for the new plate.